Pregnancy – Hypnobirthing

I don’t know about you but I can tell you that one of the scariest things for me was actually labour. Because I had strong pain during my periods and had fainted a few times in the past, especially in really hot days, I was really scared about the thought of going into labour and being hours in pain.

I hate hospitals every since I know myself. Again I’m the fainting type. The smell of the different products, the lack of fresh air, needles and blood makes me feel really dizzy, so I was scared the moment I’ve discovered I was pregnant.

Then I did something that made the matters worse, I’ve started reading hospital reviews (UK) and got even more scared. It felt it was a matter of luck if you were going to have a good support or not. On my first ante-natal appointment and because I have been throwing up a lot, I was really week and feeling dizzy, so I’ve asked to lay down while the midwife was doing my bloods. She answered: “I don’t have all day you know?”. I’ve ended up getting out of the room almost about to faint to try to find some chairs so I could sit down. If I was concerned before, now this was the peak of it all. I wish I was stronger but I’m not, it’s just the way I am.

At around 5 or 6 months I’ve decided to get a private midwife to support me through pregnancy and the first days with baby. (I’ll write about my overall experience in a different post)

One of the things she advised me was to look into Hypnobirthing. I had no idea such a thing existed.

What is hypnobirthing?

“Hypnobirthing is a complete birth education programme, that teaches simple but specific self hypnosis, relaxation and breathing techniques for a better birth.”

You can find more about it at hypnobirthing.co.uk

Why I found it useful?

  • It explains all you need to know about labour, how your body reacts, how the hormones play such an important role throughout pregnancy and after
  • It also goes through positive birth stories (normally you only ear about that friend that was in labour for 3 full days in agony)
  • But it also tells you what can go wrong and what you can do to deal with it

Overall I found that most of my fear around labour was directly related to my lack of knowledge. I knew nothing about pregnancy or babies. Zero. Throughout my reading, I started to relax a lot more because I knew what to expect.

I’ve bought this one at amazon and really liked it. Really informative

The book also comes with relaxation techniques and exercises, but I’ve ended up not doing them as much as I was doing meditation daily and also having the yoga classes. I just couldn’t focus 40m in doing the daily exercises. But loved the book.

As you’ve probably read on my planning story, everything went away from the plan, but at least by knowing what to expect I felt really relaxed in my final stages of pregnancy and I’ve ended up making the most of my last Me time in a long long while.

Have you done hypnobirthing before? Did it worked for you? Were you afraid of labour as I was? Let me know your stories and your thoughts 🙂

Have a lovely weekend,

Leave a Reply

