Mum and baby Yoga

During my maternity leave I’ve always made a effort to go out with baby Em. It was as important for her as it was for me, to feel more like an adult and a person that can do things. It wasn’t always easy because she cried loads and would vomit herself so often that all I did was to change her  before being able to leave through the door.

After reading a bit online I found that the studio where I did the Pregnancy Yoga (you can read all about it here) also had Mum & Baby classes. You could clearly see there was a baby boom at this point as the classes were overbooked. Fortunately some people managed to move to the older babies class (above 6 months) and I’ve managed to get a place.

During the first few classes she behaved a lot better that I thought she would. She was really active and all she wanted was to move around (she can’t roll yet). Most of the other babies would fall asleep on the journey to yoga, so mums could do a bit more relaxation. It was also the first time she saw other babies and she loved it. For me, I had a bit of time to stretch my legs and do stretching exercises which all new mums will need to.

Since at this point I had to keep her upright on my lap for at least 30m after a feed, it was good to discover other positions I could do that would help me do some exercise and keep her entertained. Her favourite part was the nursery rhymes. Her favourite one is “head shoulders knees and toes” mostly because it’s one where I touch her and she loves it.

I didn’t attend the final 2 classes as she had really  bad nights and the class time was at the point where she was too exhausted.

Benefits from Mum and Baby Yoga

  • For the mum I would say the best one is that you’ll have an opportunity to meet other mums and stretch! It’s also great for your emotional well being as it’s quite a relaxing experience. Everyone is on the same boat so you’ll feel you can let go. It’s another beautiful way to bond with your baby.
  • For the baby, he’ll get to meet other babies and spend good quality time with mum. The gentle exercises will be a good foundation for when he grows and it’s said to help digestive system, as some exercises are tailored to teach mums how to help them if they suffer from colic. It keeps baby happy through the soothing sounds and nursery rhymes. They also say baby will sleep better, but in my case this wasn’t through.

It’s a shame that there are  no classes over the weekend because I would love to carry on a bit longer with these classes. Once I start to sleep a bit better I’m planning to go back to normal yoga and start to have a bit more me time.

Have you experienced Mum & Baby Yoga? What are your thoughts on it? Did you found it helpful?

Leave a Reply

