My baby is a fussy eater, now what?

How many of you are in this situation? Well I certainly am! She started solids at 6 months although she had sweet potato pure at around 5m as recommended by the ped to ease the reflux.

I’ve started with soups / vegetable purees but it seems that she only wants fruits. Maybe the culprit is that at 6 months she tried banana and since then she can’t stand any spoon feeding, any purees or whatsoever.

I’m doing combo between Baby Lead Weaning and classic puree style. At the nursery they just do purees, at home I try pretty much anything to try to get her into eating. (You can read more about both methods here)

Her ped told me that she definitely needs at least 3 solid meals. Breakfast, lunch and dinner with some finger foods in the middle. As for finger foods / snacks it’s easy as she is a fruit lover. I’ve also introduced yogurt with her fruits to give her more fat. But the meals are a pain. Every day I try to offer something new she can try on and just move away from dried fruits / nuts / seafood / honey.

Each baby is different really, so you need to adapt and keep on trying until you find what your baby prefers. My little one even dislikes breakfast cereal which is quite sweet! I’m the one who ends up eating 99% of what I had prepared for her.

I haven’t found a method that works, but keep on trying and always speak to the ped for guidance if you are concerned. Most important thing is to give variety of vegetables / meat / fish / fruits / cereals and a bit of dairy.

A really good post on introducing solids here

Leave a Reply

